2018 Nuclear Science Day for Scouts

The 2018 Nuclear Science Day for Scouts at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory   will be held on May 5, 2018.  

This event is designed for youths in grades 8 or higher.  It will begin in Berkeley Lab's main auditorium.  Download our flyer for more information.  Attendance is limited by the size of our facilities.  

The registration deadline has passed.   Scouts will be selected for this outreach event by a random drawing for the available slots. 

For those scouts that are accepted (Please note these instructions will be updated):
  • Last year's information pack on the logistics (driving directions, parking, check-in time, and so much more).
  • Each vehicle entering the LBNL site should have a copy of the confirmation email that they receive, or there could be delay for your troop to enter the Laboratory ground.  
  • All participants (adult volunteers and youths) must wear long pants and closed-toe shoes.  Participants will be barred from certain activities, if the dress code is not followed.  This is mandated by laboratory safety regulations.   
  • Registration for those scouts that have been accepted begins at 9:00 AM at Building 50 at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.  In order to enter the laboratory, you will need a gate pass that will be sent to you.  In addition, you will find the LBNL campus map in the information package.

  • All participants should bring their own lunches and water bottles.

  • To complete the merit badge requirements, scouts need to fill out this worksheet and return it at the registration desk prior to the start of this event. Please do not use older worksheets as the requirements have changed.

Any LBNL employees can register to help with this event by signing up at this web page.

This event is sponsored by the following LBNL units: Nuclear Science Division, Accelerator Technology and Applied Physics Division, and the Workforce Development and Education.  We have received supplemental funding from the Northern California Chapter of the Health Physics Society and the Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation.

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory